Beauty Bag: My Favorite Hair Products

Back from Vegas. I was planning on posting yesterday, but coming back to work was a huge let-down, and on top of that, I’m getting over pneumonia. Cute. So I’m a day late. But I’m back, and I’m sharing my best hair product tips. Hope you like!

I have always hated my hair. It’s fine. It’s thin. It’s kind of oily. I’m so envious of all these gorgeous gals and their thick, silky locks. Over the years, I’ve tried SO MANY thickening creams, volumizing mousses, plumping sprays, yada yada yada. I finally have a routine down that makes my hair appear thicker, fuller, and healthier. Here’s my breakdown.

SHAMPOO: I found the John Frieda Luxurious Volume line earlier this year, and I am IN LOVE. Best part? The shampoo is only 6 bucks.

Shampoo

 

CONDITIONER: I’m not as brand-loyal here. I haven’t really found a conditioner that makes a noticeable difference over any other. However, any time I shampoo my hair, I condition my hair. I never used to condition every time, but it has made a huge difference. Shinier and bouncier. Over the summer, I lightened my color quite a bit. It’s a caramel- strawberry blonde. So right now, I have John Frieda Sheer Blonde Color Renew conditioner. This stuff really helps keep the red/orange tones in check for me. My hair still definitely has some red in it, but it looks intentional – not like a bad dye job. And seeing that I dyed my hair myself, I’ll take that win.

Conditioner

 

HAIR COLOR: Like I said, I lightened my hair quite a bit this summer – from dark brown to caramel. My hair stylist informed me it would be quite the pricey process to do it in the salon, so I (boldly? naively?) decided to tackle it myself. I’ve dyed my hair before, so I knew it would hold up to the chemicals. I used 2 boxes of ash blonde dye over the course of 2 weeks, and it turned out pretty well. Not as blonde as I would have liked, but I rather enjoy the caramel tone it ended up at. I think my hair had too much dye in it already to really absorb the blonde. I used L’Oreal Superior Preference in Lightest Ash Blonde. This is the only brand I will use. The conditioner that comes with it is fantastic! And the color isn’t too stinky or drippy. It’s a great formula.

Hair Color

 

REPAIRING BALM: So holy cow, did I find the best hair mask. This new L’Oreal Total Repair 5 Damage Erasing Balm is amazing! I just bought it a week ago, have used it twice, and my hair is SO MUCH HEALTHIER. I haven’t had a trim in months as I’m growing it out, and this stuff has sealed up all of the split ends that were forming. My hair is shiner and bouncier. I highly recommend this stuff. It really, really works.

Damage Balm

 

VOLUMIZING SPRAY: So back to John Frieda. Other than my repair balm above, this product is the best thing to happen to my hair. John Frieda Luxurious Volume Fine to Full Blow-Out spray. You just spritz it on when your hair is damp, blow dry it with a paddle brush, and it gives you  full, shiny hair. Like – amazingly full. And it lasts all day! This stuff works better than all of the salon brands I’ve tried, and it’s only 10 bucks. If you have fine, thin or limp hair, go buy it. You will thank me.

Volumizing Spray

 

HAIR SPRAY: Again, I’ve tried every volumizing hair spray, shine-inducing hair spray, the works. And a 3 dollar bottle of Suave trumps them all. Crazy. I am super loyal to Suave Professionals Touchable Finish sprays. I have both the lightweight hold and the extra hold. If I’m wearing my hair straight or wavy, I’ll use the lightweight hold to keep it super soft. If I’m putting it into an updo or some other more labor-intense style, I’ll use the extra hold. Both of them last all day. And did I mention they’re 3 bucks? For 4 years before this, I was using Paul Mitchell Volumizing hair spray, which works well. But this beats it. By a mile.

Hair Spray

 

DRY SHAMPOO: The other huge revelation I’ve found this year is dry shampoo. I had been seeing it around forever, but never really thought it would work for me. Wrong! I can now go a day or two without washing my hair. A huge time saver when I’m waking up at 5:45 in the morning. And it adds so much volume at the roots. I just spritz some on at the roots on the sides of my face and around my crown, massage it in, and brush through once. I’ll normally back-comb my crown area a bit to give it a touch more volume, since the volumizing spray has worn off by day 2. The only brand of dry shampoo I’ve tried so far is Batiste, but I don’t think I would ever switch. I usually try to pick it up at Marshall’s or TJ Maxx because it’s a couple bucks cheaper than at Ulta, but it’s still always under $10 no matter where you get it. The best part about this brand is that comes in multiple shades – I’ve seen at least 5. That way you don’t have any white residue showing up along your hair line or in your roots. If you haven’t tried dry shampoo yet, you must. It’s life-changing.

Dry Shampoo

So there you go. That’s my finely-honed hair routine. All of the products can be found at Target, Ulta or any drugstore. Leave me a comment if you’ve found any other game-changing products I should try.

Leave a Reply

